Press Clipping
George Clinton's Parliament Releases 'Medicaid Fraud Dogg' Its First Album in 38 Years

Clinton plans to retire from touring next year.
The beloved funk group Parliament—headed by the legendary George Clinton—surprised fans with the release of Medicaid Fraud Dogg, its first new album in over three decades. The group’s last release was 1980’s Trombipulation, 38 years ago. Its sister band Funkadelic has been more active in recent years, most recently dropping First Ya Gotta Shake The Gate in 2014.

Medicaid Fraud Dogg includes the group’s recent single “I’m Gon Make U Sick O'me,” featuring Geto Boys rapper Scarface. The project runs 23 tracks in length, and features instrumentals from original group members Fred Wesley, Pee Wee Ellis, Greg Thomas, and Benny Cowan (according to a recent Clinton AMA on Reddit).

Clinton is set to retire from touring in 2019, but Parliament-Funkadelic plans to continue without him. The group has dozens of shows scheduled before Clinton’s departure, too. Parliament-Funkadelic (separate groups with many of the same members) pioneered the genre of funk, and are considered widely influential on the sound of modern hip-hop and R&B.